Rehearsal:The Series
A Different Drummer (bk 1)
The Highest Aim (bk 2)
Of Chaotic Currents (bk 3)
In Refluent Waters (bk 4, coming soon!)

Book 5 (still to come)

Book 6 (still to come)
Sequel (still to come)
Prequel (still to come)


The first 29 pages of A Different Drummer in pdf format.
(original 2006 version)



Follow LK Hunsaker's board Rehearsal: The Series by LK Hunsaker on Pinterest.

Rehearsal: .The Series
It's About The Journey

Rehearsal is a series of six novels by LK Hunsaker. It comes as the culmination of twenty-plus years of character development, story development, and research into the turbulent Seventies mixed with the even more turbulent world of music. Societal aspects highlight family, parenting, and friendship issues. This is all behind a story of lingering and passionate romance mixed with laughter and drama.

LK Hunsaker has been writing creatively since childhood and became obsessed with noveling in 1996 when she wrote the first scene of Rehearsal, a story that was meandering through her brain since her early teen years. That one scene, involving an old dock and a couple trying to discover themselves within each other, expanded into notebooks full of lined paper covered in pencil. The story grew well out of the bounds of one book. Even over six books, it swells to a rough average of 600 pages each. There is no filler. Every scene pertains to other parts of the story. The dialogue is true. The characters are real enough readers find it hard to believe they are only characters in a novel.

The first book of the series, A Different Drummer, was published in 2006, followed by The Highest Aim in 2008. Both are being re-published with new covers to match the third book, Of Chaotic Currents, released December 2012. The 4th book was written at the same time as the 3rd and will be out soon.

A sequel is in progress and the idea for a prequel is in development.

There are also short stories evolving from the series, highlighting different characters in years before the series begins. They are free reads and can be found on

Rehearsal is about the journey: an exploration heavy with dialogue, more sensual and adult as the series progresses and the characters grow older, but never vulgar or overly explicit. Not a quick read and not stuffed with description, the series focuses on the Story of Friendship and Love and Family, of Growth and Potential and Direction and Choices.

All are or will be available in both print and ebook. To find BUY links, click on each book.

A Different Drummer

Susie Brooks
is a nineteen-year-old dance teacher whose main stability through the years of an uncertain childhood was her best friend, Evan Scott, a guitarist with a flair for the business world. Evan's other best friend is Duncan O'Neil, also a guitarist, but with a flair for attracting women's attention while hiding his past. When Duncan moves into Evan's world, he changes the dynamics not only within the band, but within Susie and Evan's relationship. (2006)
The Highest Aim

With rising fame comes rising tensions and decisions that build relationships or destroy them.
Susie, Duncan, and Evan lead Raucous through the music world jungle heading toward the top. Along the way, family secrets are revealed and new additions come along, and the friends must redefine themselves within their new roles. While making sacrifices and reconsidering relationships, they’ll have to choose between clinging to their current worlds and letting go to explore new possibilities. (2008)
Of Chaotic Currents

The Raucous crew is on the road moving along toward the end of the Seventies. With several number one hits and a UK tour, the band is set for bigger things and larger adventures. Along the route, false rumors and relationship strains abound, and a dangerous curve threatens to overturn their journey.

When a sudden explosion rocks them to their cores, the band members, management, and fans question their future. (2012)

In Refluent Waters

Coming Soon!



The Series Trailer
(for individual playlists for each book, go to each book pa




Content & Design ©LK Hunsaker. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Access Globe. Last update: March 2014